Posted by: Terri Johnston Fraracci | August 10, 2015

Have We Gone Overboard In Our Desire To Be Better?

I think we have. I think I have. I think we are becoming addicted to searching for ways to make ourselves be better so we can feel better. I also think, partly due to the sheer volume we are bombarded with through instant and constant media and social media, that it backfires, causing us to feel even worse about ourselves, just because we can’t possibly live up to all that.

For this reason, this normally ‘inspiring you to grow, encouraging you to seek, challenging you to do better’ blogger is taking a step back for a bit. For this reason, this blogger is encouraging you to take a day off – a complete day off – from any self – help, self – improvement, self – growth article, book, post, documentary, and/or conversation, and instead spend an entire day simply trusting that who you are right now is just right for you, right now.

One of the things I have noticed about practicing gratitude is that when one is grateful, they tend to enjoy right where they are, challenges and all, as well as be excited about where they may be going. There’s something about appreciating what you already have that opens the door to embracing the moment you are in. So it stands to reason that if you are grateful for exactly who you are right now, challenges and all, you could embrace who you are right now AND be excited about who you might become, instead of always feeling that a better you would be, well, a better you.

So that’s what I’m going to do: I’m going to take a day – a whole day or more – to come to appreciate who I am, exactly as I am, right now. I’m going to step off of the “must grow” ladder, take my eyes off of the stuff that tells me how I can be better, (including my own posts), take some time to learn to be ever so good with the me I am now, so as to be able to embrace the good stuff offered (that applies to me and who I am) when I return to seeing it, without going overboard on my desire to be a better me.

improvement

*Note: The evolution of my thoughts on the subject began to take shape after I read another WordPress blogger’s post, which can be found here. Thank you for your wit, humor, and wisdom, Katherine.

Responses

  1. This is exactly what I’ve been thinking about lately. Gratitude. Gratitude for everything I am and everything I have. Everything I dream of. I have been much more at ease and at peace, no matter what the world is dishing out. Dare I say, I have found my joy? Yes I dare. I have been a negative, why me, kind of person for most of my life whenever anything bad happens. Well I am turning that around with my attitude of gratitude. You have been very encouraging and uplifting and enlightening on my journey. I have been seeking and finding, asking and receiving. God is love and I am forever grateful. heart emoticon

    Like

    • Thank you for sharing! Great news! So pleased to be a part of your journey :). Thank you for saying so.

      Like


Leave a Reply

Categories

