Posted by: Terri Johnston Fraracci | August 28, 2011

Some thoughts on Todd Burpo’s book: Heaven is for Real

This post is going to be short and easy. As a writer, it would behoove me to wait until I’ve processed “Heaven is for Real: A Little boy’s astounding Story of His Trip to Heaven and Back”, but I trust my intuition, and my intuition says “now”.

Written by Todd Burpo, the little boy’s father, with Lynn Vincent, it is the accounting of 4 year old Colton’s visit in Heaven, while under anesthesia; a story that comes together in bits and pieces as Colton reveals what he knows about Heaven over two years, after saying something a few months after surgery about remembering the angels singing to him.

Being a Christian, I know the descriptions of Heaven throughout the Bible. I have also read more than my share of books on Heaven, near death experiences, and theories. Some rang true to a point. Some didn’t quite feel right. Most could not be classified as biblical, even though many contained threads of what Christians believe Heaven is.

The difference between this book and all the others for me, aside from the fact that Colton’s accounting is definitely biblical, is that it is the first one that I had to put down frequently in order to let the Godbumps go down and take it all in. Now that I am finished, I am compelled to share.

And so without telling you too much, or trying to convince you of anything, I simply invite you to read the book

 

Photo by the Burpo family and iStock. Book cover designed by JWH Graphic Arts. Original package design by Thomas Nelson, inc.

Responses

  1. Terri,
    My book club read this last year and we all liked it. I agree, a must read.
    Eileen

    Like

  2. Thank you Eileen 🙂

    Like

  3. I am a Christian. In 2008 I gave birth too early and lost my baby boy. For several years I have struggled, every day, with depression and the constant fear of where he is, and if I will ever be able to see him again. I finished reading this book yesterday, and for the first time since Marlin died, I can actually smile when I speak or even think his name. God used this book to change my life. Everyone should read it, especially women who have lost children.

    Like

    • Thank you for your thoughtful comment. My heart goes out to you. I know exactly what you mean, and I agree that this book about their experience has the power to change lives. God Bless you.

      Like


Leave a Reply

Categories

