Posted by: Terri Johnston Fraracci | August 12, 2011

Learning to live joy!

I think I am beginning to live joy and I’m so amazed at that! Life hasn’t always been easy for me. I’ve had my share of pain, abuse, and devastating losses, but I’m still here and I figure God is not done with me yet. Life is not perfect now – that’s not why I’m happy – I’m learning to love what is, choose my attitude, see the good, help where I can, share love!! 

I guess I am getting to the point where my happiness has nothing to do with circumstances, but just a general, grateful sense of well-being.  I think a lot of it is choice. When I head in the wrong direction I choose to stop and turn around. I’m aware of some really damaging, painful, trapping emotional habits that are just that – habits! They don’t serve me well so I work on replacing them with good stuff. Little by little I am reaching a place where I lead with the good stuff first. Amazing!

Life does what it does. I can’t control that, but I can control how I see it, how it impacts me, and what I bring to the table. Realizing that I have that kind of personal power was HUGE! 

Guess what? You have that same personal power. And you have choice! I was sharing where I’m at in my life with a friend. Finally found a way to put it into words so I thought I would also share it with you. I’m hoping my experience will somehow touch someone who needs to know that living joy is not just a cool spiritual phrase, but a real possibility for each and every one of us.

 

Life is not perfect now - that's not why I'm happy - I'm learning to love what is, choose my attitude, see the good, help where I can, share love!!

Life is not perfect now - that's not why I'm happy - I'm learning to love what is, choose my attitude, see the good, help where I can, share love!!

 

Responses

  1. So you’re finding this place….and you’re so right! Thank you.

    Like

  2. You are most welcome Gina. Thank you :).

    Like


Leave a Reply

Categories

