Posted by: Terri Johnston Fraracci | July 7, 2011

Choosing the spiritual path over emotion and general consensus

I love having a blog site. I have the freedom to write in the first person. I also have the freedom to share in my own spiritual journey in a much more personal way. That is what I intend to do in this post.

I also write for examiner.com. My last two articles were about the notorious Casey Anthony acquittal. If you read the articles you will see that my goal was to encourage people to move beyond the anger, finger-pointing, and hate to the principles of acceptance, looking at self, prayer, and reaping the lessons.

As I was writing these articles, I was fighting my own feelings. First for the case: I felt horror, disappointment, sadness, and anger that a little girl died the way Caylee did. But I know that to go ahead and acknowledge the feelings and then make the choice to walk the higher road is the way to go, so I pressed on.

Then there were other emotions that always get me when I witness mob mentality encouraged through the media and the internet. It is painful to me to watch everyone spew rage and hate, and egg each other on to go to lower and lower levels. Hate and love are equally contagious and the hate grew like a cancer, and is not over yet. Enter me wading into the middle of it trying to inject some love.

Today I find myself emotionally drained. I realized that choosing the path I chose over my emotions and general consensus cost me. Throwing myself into the nastiness to uncover and share another way wasn’t easy. But I have done this before – gone against the grain with my own perspective – and I will do it again because there are some who agreed and were happy to know that they didn’t stand alone, some who wondered how I could see the case that way and are hopefully thinking about it, and some who realized through being open to a different perspective that there was a more beneficial way to deal. I was able to pass on to others some of the sound principles and love that have been passed on to me.

I am sharing this with you to encourage you to remain steady when choosing the spiritual path over your own emotions and the judgment of others, because even though I am worn out I know it was worth it. I feel like I walked my talk, and in so doing not only made a difference for others, but for myself. I’m not stuck in the negative, stressful, useless, damaging emotions that I started with. I can walk away from the Anthony story knowing that the only place it belongs now is in my prayers. Hopefully others can too.

Responses

  1. “Each one has to find his peace from within. And peace to be real must be unaffected by outside circumstances.” –Ghandi

    He said it better than I could and you said it well yourself!

    The humility to say “we don’t know, we weren’t there” is key, but we live in this funny world where everyone has an opinion about everything. Even things they know nothing about, really. Is it arrogance? Is it ego? Tolle would say, it’s ego — the need to engage in controversy and conflict, the need to be right, etc. Whatever it is … I vote for peace. Let’s get our own lives right before we label others, before we seek to disagree.

    Like

  2. as usual — well stated my dear friend.

    Like


Leave a Reply

Categories

