Posted by: Terri Johnston Fraracci | March 21, 2011

Captain of My Own Ship

Captain of My Own Ship

  

I am captain of my own ship

Sailing across the sea of life

I have always been captain

But I have not always known

 

Not until I raced back to the shores of past

Out of fear, out of regret

Repeatedly

Not until I raced toward the shores of future

Out of fear, out of regret

Repeatedly

 

Not until I realized that looking forward and backward

Kept me from manning my sails

When the seas were stormy

Not until I learned that looking forward and backward

 Kept me from fearlessly dropping sail

When the seas were calm

 

I am captain of my own ship

And I am ready to navigate

The open sea of my life

Minus the panic of being between shores

 

Sometimes working right along side of the wind

Sometimes dropping anchor

Sometimes drifting along as dictated by the sea

But always fully where I am

No longer fighting against the current

To reach either shore

 

For I am captain of my own ship

And now I know

My only place is at the helm

Directing my path alone

In concordance with the ebb and flow

Of my life, my today, my now

 

 

 

 

 

Responses

  1. a beautiful realization, vividly captured with words. we are so fortunate to be able to choose how we steer our lives and there is endless power in finally accepting that. all my love and best wishes. =)

    Like

  2. This is moving and inspirational.
    Good job auntie.
    I lovee you.
    Keep up the amazing writing(:

    Like

  3. This is beautiful. Very inspirational. Thank you! I’m sending you an award. It will be up on the blog tomorrow! 🙂

    Like

  4. TY & TY 🙂 !

    Like

  5. Who knew that finding an old friend I would find a new friend that inspires me so, and beautifully writes about the things I am feeling. Right now I truly feel blessed. Thank you Terri, you do inspire me and I certainly hope you keep up with your writing, it is a gift given to you that you share with others.

    Like

  6. This is a beautiful poem! Did you write this yourself?

    Like


Leave a Reply

Categories

