Posted by: Terri Johnston Fraracci | September 15, 2010

Do you know why God created rainbows?

I believe that nature reflects God’s love of people. I also believe that every aspect of nature contains a lesson for us: Mountains exist to climb. Oceans tell the story of life cycles with their ebb and flow. Trees are the trunk of God; we are the branches. See what I mean? Anyway, today’s question is about rainbows. Let me tell you what I think.

I come from a small town in upstate NY where neighbors are family. If you need anything, someone will be there for you. And if you are a visitor, you will be welcomed with open arms. It doesn’t matter where you came from.

 I currently live in a small city. Lodi is rich in cultural diversity. It is such a gift to be able to learn and share multiple cultures, spiritual beliefs, foods, and practices with the many different people who make up our little city.

A friend of mine just returned from a cross-country vacation. She was sharing her family’s adventure when I mentioned that I would like to cross the country some day, stopping in small towns along the way to soak up their personality and essence. She was silent for a moment before she said, “You might not find all of the towns to be friendly. But then again, you are not me.” My friend is a loving, spiritual, giving, beautiful black woman. I am white.

It still bothers me that in 2010, my friend and her family were met by prejudice in some of the towns they went through. She was not bitter or angry, but I am disillusioned and sad. It isn’t that I am not aware that prejudice is alive and well. I am. I have written about the current issues surrounding American Muslims and other “groups” on my examiner site. It just really hit home to have someone I care about be treated with disdain because of her skin color.

Do you know why God created rainbows? I do. Rainbows represent ALL of God’s people traveling through life together. How could we possibly admire the beauty of a rainbow, but not the amazing gift of an even more beautiful world full of colorful people created by the same awesome artist?

Next time you see a rainbow, thank God for his spectacular reminder of how He loves every one of us. Then go out and do the same.

Rainbows represent ALL of God's beautiful people traveling through life together.

Responses

  1. Ive never thought of it that way,but what a beautiful way to explain rainbows(I think it would be a great way to teach children about tolerance and equality)Thanks for posting!!

    Like


Leave a Reply

Categories

