Posted by: Terri Johnston Fraracci | September 5, 2010

Fellowship isn’t just a church term.

My favorite definition of fellowship is family: an association of people who share common beliefs or activities. The seed of this post was planted in my heart during church this morning; which is usually the first place that comes to mind when you say the word fellowship. Having said that, the realization that came to me is that fellowship can happen anywhere that a group of people with common interests gather. Wow!

I personally enjoy fellowship with my church family because I finally got it that churches are run by human beings. People, being human, make mistakes; so churches won’t be perfect. Losing the expectation of perfection allows me to gather blessings through the fellowship of church. But what hit me today is that church isn’t the only place I fellowship.

I have actually been in fellowship all day. First with my husband at the breakfast table. Then I spent a brief time in fellowship with my twitter and FB families. On to church where I enjoyed worship, song, and conversation with like spirits. After church I gathered with family for a birthday party – another grand time of fellowship.

Now I am back to you; my twitter and FB families again. We meet via the internet and come together through a variety of common interests. We are an association of people who share common beliefs or activities; and in my eyes we are family. I have been in fellowship all day!

Gathering and sharing through various means and relationships is enriching, enlightening, and just plain enjoyable. Fellowship isn’t just a church term. It is a beautiful way that people come together and share the good stuff. I find fellowship within family, with friends, in church, with writers, musicians, mothers, and with folks from all walks of life on social networks. It just struck me today that fellowship is a blessing that goes way beyond the doors of a church. And in the spirit of fellowship I am now sharing these thoughts with you.

Folks brought together in fellowship through their love of music.

Responses

  1. This is a great article about all the different kinds of fellowship that we share, and how our lives are enriched by all of them.

    Like


Leave a Reply

Categories

