Posted by: Terri Johnston Fraracci | August 16, 2010

A healthy temple allows your spirit to soar!

The Bible says that our bodies are the temples that hold our spirits: “Do you not know that your body is a temple of the Holy Spirit, who is in you, whom you have received from God? You are not your own; you were bought at a price. Therefore honor God with your body.” – ICorinthians 6:19-20  Not only does my body house the Holy Spirit, but my spirit lives there as well. Although I have always believed that, I have to say that I have taken my body for granted.

Getting older and hopefully more mature, I have realized that it is grace alone that my general health is good. Although I have taken better care in the last decade or so, I didn’t really get it until recently: When my body is healthy, it no longer takes from the focus on my spirit. In other words, a healthy temple allows your spirit to soar.

In spirit is the only place I want to live. If I must spend my time meeting the never -ending needs of an unhealthy, never satisfied, addicted body, then my spirit must compete for my attention. But if I take care of my body in the first place, my spirit can take its rightful place as my top priority and I can honor God and myself.

The true shift began to take shape after watching, and then investigating and writing about Food, Inc.. Even though I was eating a relatively healthy diet most of the time, I was also eating processed food, sugary snacks, fatty snacks, and meat that I thought was relatively safe. My temple was still shaky, needy, and in charge. And my spirit was stuck inside.

So I recently decided to go for it. I felt it was time to take care of the business of the body so my spirit could be set free. In the last two weeks I have taken excellent care of my spirit’s home by saying no to processed food, sugar, and eating out, and saying yes to fresh fruits and veges in abundance, lots of water, more meatless meals, less grains and always whole, and portion control.

I am amazed at the difference already! I am lighter, more energetic, more focussed, and downright joyful! Real food has never tasted as good as it does when the junk is gone. I truly enjoy my meals; as well as the bonus weight loss. No, that is not the goal, but yes, I could stand to lose a little more weight.  And it feels so good to know that I am taking good care of the gift of my body.

This is my current journey. Being human, I suspect I will have my ups and downs. But, for the moment I am truly grateful that I am learning a new way that keeps my body strong and happy and allows me to live in spirit more than ever before. I am slowly shifting from spending much time appeasing and repairing my temple from self-inflicted damage to spending more time in communion with my Creator and myself.

I share this with you because in this moment my body is healthy and my spirit is joyful. I am grateful for finally understanding that my body is a gift that allows my spirit to live. In fact I do believe that a healthy temple allows your spirit to soar because I am experiencing it first hand :).

Give up pizza? Never! Make it myself? You bet.

The pizza above is made with whole wheat crust, peppers, onions, garlic, olives, mushrooms, basil, oregano, and half as much low-fat mozz. as called for. Healthy, yummy, and I know exactly what is in it because I made it myself :).

Responses

  1. Terri, excellent! Resinated with me, because JC and I started thus journey last November, and we haven’t looked back since. Everything you said is absolutely point on. What I love most is my clearness of mind, thoughts, and memory retention. I love the lightness in weight you spoke of, not size of body, but the way I’m able to move in my body. I love the idea of making better choices regarding my health. I fully understand the concept of, eating to life, not living to eat. Love the way you can taste the natural goodness of food. I can go on and on, but I’ll stop now. As you can tell, I’m an advocate for healthy living. They say the reformed anything is the “worse.” 😄😄😄😄

    Like

    • Thank you, Carole! I’m glad you like it. I’m even more glad you are enjoying your journey. Healthy temples certainly do positively affect their tenants :).

      Like


Leave a Reply

Categories

