Posted by: Terri Johnston Fraracci | July 27, 2010

“Don’t worry, be happy” – Meher Baba

My husband and I were sitting in the swing in our backyard as evening fell, enjoying the sight and scent of our flowers. The birds were quietly chirping. The cat was exploring, and we were relaxing and catching up with each other at the end of a long day. We were talking about our health when he said something that really made me think. He was talking about how people did a lot of things that weren’t good for them years ago, and how a lot of them got away with it and lived long, happy lives.

I am a big advocate for respecting our bodies and souls through physical, mental, emotional, and spiritual health; as well as for respecting our earth, animals, children, all other human beings. I try to practice tolerance and compassion, and I encourage others to do the same. I also try to demonstrate my respect for all these gifts by practicing eating well, living green, and by sharing good thoughts, ideas, and stories that uplift others. Please note that I said “practice”. I, like you, recognize that finding my way in this life is a process. I am no where near perfection when it comes to doing what I believe in on a daily basis; which brings me to my point.

Although I believe in taking good care of all of the above, I don’t believe in worrying about it. My husband’s words sent me back into the many conversations I’ve had with friends and colleagues, and the articles and reports all over the media that tell us that in order to be okay “we have to do this, and this, and this”. It raises ideas like “you have to eat healthy all of the time” to the same life or death level as something like “don’t ingest deadly poison”. If you ingest deadly poison, you will die. If you eat healthy all of the time, chances are you will live longer and/or better; or at least not die from eating poorly. But if you eat Twinkies on a Saturday night, it probably won’t kill you.

On the other hand, being afraid and worrying about what will happen if you don’t do all of these things on a daily basis just might kill you. Running around striving to make sure you are doing everything right while worrying that you aren’t is the kind of stress that affects your body in ways that can lead to early death.

So what is the real point? The real point is that I do want to be a good steward of my life. And I would like it to be a reasonably long and healthy adventure. And I want to share that adventure with others in such a way that it benefits them. But I realize that as long as my motivation for seeking healthy ways to live is fear, and that my response to trying to achieve a certain level is worry, I am living at cross purposes.

So I am still going to practice healthy behaviors in all of the areas mentioned above because I believe in what I talk and write about, and I like living those principles. And I am still going to try to encourage and inspire others to do the same if it suits them. But I am not going to pursue these ideals out of fear; or worry about it if I have a bad day and don’t practice one of my “green” ways. If I do something unhealthy like pig out at a buffet, I am not going to ruin the moment by feeling guilty for not eating like I normally do.

I have a choice. I can believe the information out there and approach my life with an attitude of fear and worry, or I can believe this: “Therefore I tell you, do not worry about your life, what you will eat or drink; or about your body, what you will wear. Is not life more important than food, and the body more important than clothes? 26Look at the birds of the air; they do not sow or reap or store away in barns, and yet your heavenly Father feeds them. Are you not much more valuable than they? 27Who of you by worrying can add a single hour to his lifeb? – Matthew 25 – 27.

“Don’t worry, be happy.” And might I add be joyful!

Responses

  1. Dont Worry Be Happy, I will Help You…thats what Baba has said….We All Should Remember…
    Jai Baba
    Chandar

    Like

  2. Thank you Dr. Singh :).

    Like


Leave a Reply

Categories

